## **Open Letter on the Establishment of a National Integrity Commission**

## To the Prime Minister

Enough is enough. The establishment of a National Integrity Commission with teeth is long overdue.

Last election, all sides of politics promised to legislate an integrity commission. In fact, the Government promised:

"It'll be done a lot quicker than the promise those opposite made as to when they would do it; it'll be a lot quicker than the 12 months that they promised." - THEN-ATTORNEY GENERAL CHRISTIAN PORTER, HANSARD I AUGUST 2019.

This was one of several 'priority reforms' that the Government would be 'working to achieve early in the 46th Parliament.'

In the current climate, we understand that priorities can change. However, the Government has kept the Australian public waiting for 922 days, and has found time to tackle a great number of the Government's self-described priorities outside of the coronavirus response – but has yet to find time for this one.

A National Integrity Commission is urgently needed to fill the gaps in our integrity system and restore trust in our democracy.

A major cause of the current deterioration in trust is the suspicion that corruption permeates many governmental decisions and actions. Corruption, broadly understood in this context, occurs when those in public office place private interests over the public good. The avoidance of corruption is an essential organising principle of our representative democracy.

Existing federal integrity agencies lack the necessary jurisdiction, powers and expertise to investigate properly the impartiality and bona-fides of decisions made by, and conduct of, the federal government and public sector.

Australia Institute research shows that while public confidence in its state government leaders is soaring, the same cannot be said for our federal government.

The National Integrity Committee has outlined a benchmark for designing a model integrity commission with internal and external protections to ensure its own integrity. It must have a broad jurisdiction and strong investigative powers including, subject to proper protections, the power to hold public hearings when it is in the public interest to do so, in order to adequately investigate and expose corruption and misconduct.

We urge you to establish a strong, effective and independent National Integrity Commission immediately.

SIGNATORIES --

The Hon Mary Gaudron QC

Former Judge, High Court of Australia

The Hon Anthony Whealy QC Former Judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Paul Stein AM QC

Former Judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Margaret White AO

Former Judge, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Stephen Charles AO QC

Former Judge, Victorian Court of Appeal The Hon David Harper AM QC

Former Judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon Carmel McLure AC QC

Former President, Western Australian Court of Appeal The Hon Murray Tobias AM QC

Former Judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon G E (Tony) Fitzgerald AC QC Former Judge, Federal Court of Australia; former

President, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Margaret McMurdo AC Former President, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Geoff Davies AO QC

Former Judge, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon FHR Vincent

Former Judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon Peter Lyons QC

Former Judge, Supreme Court of Queensland

The Hon Roslyn Atkinson AO

Former Judge, Supreme Court of Queensland
The Hon Alan Wilson QC Former Judge, Supreme Court of Queensland

Former Judge, Queensland District Court

Julian Gardner AM

Former Victorian Public Advocate **Judith Bell AM** 

Former Commissioner, Queensland Crime and Misconduct

Commission

**Geoffrey Watson SC** 

Barrister, former counsel assisting NSW ICAC; Director, Centre for Public Integrity

**Nicholas Cowdery AO QC** 

Former Director of Public Prosecutions for NSW

**Professor Joo-Cheong Tham** 

Melbourne Law School

**Professor AJ Brown** 

Griffith University, Transparency International Australia

**Professor Kate Auty** 

Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne

**Professor Tim Prenzler** 

Professor of Criminology, University of Sunshine Coast

**Professor Spencer Zifcak** 

Allan Myers Professor of Law **Professor Ken Coghill** 

Adjuct Professor Monash University; former Speaker of

the Victorian Legislative Assembly

**Emeritus Professor Meredith Edwards AM** University of Canberra

A/Professor Elizabeth M. Dax AM

Former Director, National Reference Laboratory

**Dr Klaas Woldring** 

Former Associate Professor, Southern Cross University

**Dr Rebecca Ananian-Welsh** 

Senior Lecturer, TC Beirne School of Law, The University

of Queensland

**Dr Richard Gould** Tribunal Member, Victorian Government

**Dr Cameron Hazlehurst** 

Chair, The Ethicos Group Alex McKean

Barrister

Fiona McLeod AO SC

Barrister

**Joshua Jones** Barrister

Barrister

**Robert Richter QC** Barrister

**Dr Kristine Hanscombe QC** Barrister

**Brian Walters AM QC** 

Barrister **Ben Slade** 

Principal, Maurice Blackburn **Josh Bornstein** 

Principal Lawyer, Maurice Blackburn

Director, Accountability Roundtable, immediate past Chair,

Commonwealth public servant **Dr Julia Thornton** 

**Professor John Hewson AM** 

Former Senator for Victoria

The Hon Kevin Rozzoli AM

Accountability Roundtable

Chair Clem Jones Group **Howard Whitton** 

The Hon Barry Jones AC

**Cathy McGowan AO** 

Lyn Allison

**Beryce Nelson** 

**David Muir AM** 

**Dr Peter Wilkins** 

**Stuart Hamilton AO** 

for Aspley

Science

Crawford School of Public Policy ANU

**Professor Emerita Carmen Lawrence** Former Premier of Western Australia

**Emertius Professor Geoff Gallop AC** 

Former Premier of Western Australia

Former independent Member of Parliament for Indi

Former Speaker of NSW Parliament, member

Policy Analysis, Director The Ethicos Group

John Curtin Institute of Public Policy

Former Member of Parliament for Lalor and Minister for

Former Member of the Queensland Legislative Assembly

Visiting Fellow National Institute for Governance and

Victorian Branch, Australian Fabian Society

Senior Researcher, The Australia Institute Democracy &

Accountability Program

Director, Accountability Roundtable, former senior

**Jonathon Hunyor** CEO, Public Interest Advocacy Centre

**John Menadue AO** 

Publisher

**Howard Pender** 

Convenor, Australasian Centre for Corporate Responsibility

**Dr Valarie Sands** 

Chair, Australian Citizens Against Corruption